IT job market conditions

A comment found here:

Deflationary expectations are embedded.
I can’t believe what I’m seeing in the job market.
Almost every job I interviewed for in the past four months is re-listed and still open.
There’s fifty pages of positions open on Dice now.

It’s not me.
They’re not finding anyone “good enough” in this, the greatest period of unemployment in fifty years.
I suspect part of it is the geek propensity towards perfectionism, an exercise in ego to avoid responsibility.

I actually had a panic call last night for what was obviously a project gone bad.

These kids think they can drive down wages, ruin a project with bad programmers and then somebody like me can show up and fix it in day or day. It’s amazing. And then they want to argue about price.

An interesting perspective.

Leave a Reply

